>Bedtime for Boozey

>

While putting together my book proposal to prospective agents and publishers, I did a little research by examining the success of bestselling books written by other comedians and popular humorists. Several of the most popular books of this nature are essentially comedians’ stage acts translated onto the page (Seinlanguage by Jerry Seinfeld) and others are collections of stories and essays (Denis Leary’s Why We Suck).

One of the most popular comedians/authors today is Chelsea Handler. Yes, she’s the host of her own popular talk show, but she’s also the author of several books. Each one has appeared on The New York Times bestseller list, and were praised by critics and readers even before she became a TV star. I spent some time looking over her popular books:

Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea.
My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands.
Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang

See a recurring theme at all?

Handler does not simply collect jokes from her stand-up routine, nor does she collect a bunch of unrelated essays into one book. No, each book has its own theme, which is usually stories about drinking or stories of sex…or stories of drunken sex.

Handler is very funny. And each of these books are bestsellers that made (and are still making) a boatload of money. With that in mind, I’ve come to realize that I’ve gone about this whole thing entirely wrong. I wrote an honest book about my early struggles and failures in the comedy business, many of which were humorous and many of which were kinda sad. That’s fine, but the title is all wrong. So, instead of Four Wheels and a Microphone, my book is now going to be titled one of the following:

I Get Drunk and Sleep With Strange Women
Drunken Sex With Me and Other Fine Stories
I’m Too Busy Having Sex To Have Another Drink
I’m Too Busy Drinking To Have Sex Right Now
Whores and Booze and Sometimes Other Stuff

I’m optimistic that one of these titles will be exactly what I need to push my book right into the hands of every major publisher out there and immediately onto every bestseller list you can imagine. Look for it at your favorite bookstore, right next to anything written by Tucker Max.

Leave a Reply

